When music touches you

Too often you can check any form of social media and see any teenage girl make a post about how some Top 40 song speaks to her. I have a story for you about a time when a song legitimately made a big impact on me. Not to say all of those girls are being immature or it’s all superficial or something like that, it’s just a common trope of social media. This is just my example of a song that really affected me. Hearing it sent a wave of emotions of all sorts over me: pain, fear, sadness, guilt, confusion and more. I wasn’t expecting to hear anything like that when I listened to La Dispute’s new album.

Rooms of the House is one of the greatest albums I’ve ever listened to. The music is fantastic and the lyrics are extremely powerful. It’s one of just a handful of albums that legitimately had an impact on me, and for the most part the songs didn’t have any direct relation to anything I’ve experienced. But one song really stood out and I can’t really describe what I felt when I heard it, because there was too much running through my mind at once to comprehend it all.

“The Child We Lost 1963” is a great song, simple as that, at least when you look at it from a musical perspective. But lyrically it tells a powerful story. I don’t want to describe the song too much because I also don’t really want to go into my story about it. But nonetheless, the song really hit me hard, hard enough that I felt compelled to tell the world how strong it is. Very few songs can compel you to do more than post a link on Facebook saying “Check this out!” or text your friends about it. This one made me think about something so much bigger than me and something that will always live on somewhere in my mind.

When major events happen, they can change our lives. They can alter how we act, what we think, what we say and how we conduct ourselves. These sort of events can happen anywhere and can be brought on by almost anything. When the event is something positive, it is something to be rejoiced and celebrated, something that you love to think and reminisce about, something that you can be proud of and talk to others about. Unfortunately, not every life-changing event is positive, as we all know all too well. Sometimes the memories of these events can haunt you, upset you, frighten you, etc. Things are not always so black and white though.

I really don’t know how I feel about what I felt when I listened to this song. The mix of emotions was too intense. On the surface, it seems like it would pretty clearly be a negative thing, but when I explore it deeper, I’m not so sure about that. If nothing else, you could conclude that having memories and thoughts evoked so suddenly and brought to the forefront of the mind is something that many people don’t experience frequently and that alone is a positive experience. Whatever the case may be, I can certainly say that this one song by La Dispute hit me hard, harder than any other song I can remember. Sometimes music really can have a profound impact on your life.

One comment

Leave a comment